Songs to get you by

Music is something that helps me get by whenever I’m away from my significant other (which is like 99.9% of the time). I know that music is very powerful, for instance, when you are sad you might listen to sad songs, or maybe you listen to upbeat songs when you work out to help pump you up. Music is a very good way to let some emotions out and help deal with what you’re going through at a certain time in your life.

I can say that when a song has lyrics that I can relate to, I feel like someone gets me, like I’m not going through what I’m going through completely alone. I like having songs that I can feel a connection to especially when I’m an emotional wreck.

My boyfriend and I made a playlist of songs that remind us of each other, and we have about 50 songs on it so it doesn’t get TOO repetitive. I recommend you and your significant other make a playlist that you can both listen to when you are away from each other (it’s even nice to listen to it when you do get to spend time together).

Okaaay. So here it is, I complied some songs that are about either being away from a loved one, military love, or missing someone. I hope you like them, and if you have any songs that you like that help get you by, please sound off in the comments!

  • Ain’t No Sunshine- Bill Withers
  • All My Loving- The Beatles
  • A Thousand Years- Christina Perri
  • Cars and Telephones: The Arcade Fire
  • Coming Home- City and Colour
  • Come Home- OneRepublic
  • Come Home Soon- SheDaisy
  • Daylight- Maroon 5
  • Distance- by Christina Perri
  • Don’t- Billy Currington
  • Far Away- Nickelback
  • Goodnight Starlight- The Juliana Theory
  • Home- Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros
  • I Don’t Wanna Miss a Thing- Aerosmith
  • I Won’t Give Up- Jason Mraz
  • I’m Already There- Lonestar
  • In My Arms Instead- Randy Rogers Band
  • Letters from Home- John Montgomery
  • Living in Your Letters- Dashboard Confessional
  • Long Distance- Bruno Mars
  • Made in the USA- Demi Lovato
  • Miles- Christina Perri
  • Miles Away- Memphis May Fire
  • Miss You- Foster the People
  • Ours- Taylor Swift
  • Pachuca Sunrise- Minus The Bear
  • See You Soon- ColdPlay
  • See You Tonight- Scotty McCreery
  • Silver Coin- Angus & Julia Stone
  • Someday- Bryan Greenberg
  • Stay- Rhianna
  • Summer’s Song- Dear Juliet
  • The Girl- City and Colour
  • Train Song- Ben Gibbard ans Feist
  • Travelin’ Soldier- Dixie Chicks
  • Wait for Me- Theory of a Deadman
  • When You Come Home- Tripp Marxx
  • When you’re Gone – Avril Lavigne
  • When you’re Gone- The Cranberries
  • Wish You Were Here- Incubus
  • Your Call- Secondhand Serenade

2 thoughts on “Songs to get you by

  1. Pingback: grateful for Music | The Life of Jonathan

Leave a comment